Project E

E) Ecosystem services of floodplain rehabilitation

The aim of project E is to develop tools to:

  1. to monitor and map floodplain ecotopes using remote sensing on different spatial scales,
  2. to predict the spatial and temporal dynamics of river-floodplain ecosystems and its services under different natural and anthropogenic forcing, and
  3. to assess the effects of rehabilitation measures and management strategies on ecosystem services delivered by river-floodplain systems.

These tools will be useful in reducing the long-term management costs, creating more self-sustaining rivers with beneficial ecosystem services and designing smart interventions.

Supervisory team

Prof. dr. Ton Breure

ton.breure@rivm.nl

dr. ir. Denie Augustijn

d.c.m.augustijn@utwente.nl

dr. Gertjan Geerling

gertjan.geerling@deltares.nl

Menno Straatsma

m.w.straatsma@uu.nl

dr. Elisabeth Addink

E.A.Addink@uu.nl

prof. dr. Hans Midelkoop

H.Middelkoop@uu.nl

Contributing partners

Rijkswaterstaat Ministry of Infrastructure and Water Management

National Institute for Public Healthe and the Enviroment. Minsty of Health, Welfare and Sport.

ARCADIS Nederland BV

Bureau Waardenburg BV

Deltares

Radboud University Nijmegen

University of Twente

Utrecht University

NWO Applied and Engineering Sciences

Last modified: 20/07/2018

Project leader

prof. dr. Rob Leuven

Send a message

Table of contents