Share

Feedback

About us

Why SALTISolutions?

Freshwater is vital for drinking water, nature, agriculture and industry. However, the availability of freshwater is under pressure in deltas throughout the world. Salty seawater is penetrating further up the rivers due to human intervention, such as the deepening of waterways, as equally climate change. Within SALTISolutions, the researchers, together with the partners involved such as Rijkswaterstaat, water boards, port authorities and dredging companies, will produce a virtual model (digital twin) of the Rhine-Meuse Delta. This model will integrate knowledge about processes on various spatial and time scales: from turbulent flows at the smallest scale level to the consequences of climate change in the long-term. They will use this to predict how, where, when, and how long salt from seawater will penetrate, and how measures such as implementing nature-based solutions influence the freshwater supply. These insights will be tested worldwide, as a result of which the position of Dutch delta technology will be further strengthened.

Team

Partners

Program leader

Prof. dr. J.D. Pietrzak

J.D.Pietrzak@tudelft.nl

Program managers

Mw. J. Grootveld

jip.grootveld@hydrologic.com

Mw. M. Coonen

meike.coonen@hydrologic.com

Scientific Program Committee (SPC)

Prof. dr. J.D. Pietrzak

J.D.Pietrzak@tudelft.nl

Prof. dr. H.J.H. Clercx

H.J.H.Clercx@tue.nl

Prof. dr. ir. Ton Hoitink

ton.hoitink@wur.nl

Prof. dr. ir. H. A. Dijkstra

H.A.Dijkstra@uu.nl

Prof. dr. S.J.M.H. Hulscher

s.j.m.h.hulscher@utwente.nl

Prof. dr. ir. S.G.J. Aarninkhof

S.G.J.Aarninkhof@tudelft.nl

Prof. dr. ir. Mascha van der voort

m.c.vandervoort@utwente.nl

Prof. Dr. J.C.J. Kwadijk

Jaap.Kwadijk@deltares.nl

Program User Committee (PUC)

Ir. K. Poels - chair

katheleen.poels@rhdhv.com

Dr. ir. W.M. Kranenburg

Wouter.Kranenburg@deltares.nl

Ir. L. Hulsen

LJM.Hulsen@portofrotterdam.com

Drs. M. Spijker

maarten.spijker@hydrologic.com

Dr. F. Groenendijk

floris.groenendijk@arcadis.com

Joris den Uijl

joris.denuijl@vanoord.com

T. Vijverberg

thomas.vijverberg@boskalis.com

PhD's and PD's

Cem Bingol

c.bingol@tue.nl

Shravan Raaghav

s.r.kaveripuram.ramasamy@tue.nl

Tess Wegman

T.M.Wegman@tudelft.nl

Marlein Geraeds

M.E.G.Geraeds@tudelft.nl

Fateme Ebrahimierami

f.ebrahimierami@utwente.nl

D. van Keulen

daan.vankeulen@wur.nl

H. Jongbloed

Henk.Jongbloed@wur.nl

Bouke Biemond

w.t.biemond@uu.nl

Jiyong Lee

j.lee3@uu.nl

W.M. van der Sande

w.m.vandersande@utwente.nl

E. Saccon

eleonora.saccon@nioz.nl

Rutger Siemes

r.w.a.siemes@utwente.nl

Weiqiu Chen

w.chen-6@utwente.nl

Gijs Hendrickx

G.G.Hendrickx@tudelft.nl

Jesse Bootsma

jesse.bootsma@utwente.nl

F. Bakker

F.P.Bakker@tudelft.nl

Robert-Jan den Haan

r.j.denhaan@utwente.nl

Paran Pourteimouri

Paran.Pourteimouri@deltares.nl

Bas Wullems

bas.wullems@wur.nl

Avelon Gerritsma

Avelon.Gerritsma@deltares.nl

Mo Wannasin

Mo.Wannasin@deltares.nl

Co-leads

The Dutch Ministry of Infrastructure and Water Management works daily on a safe, liveable and accessible Netherlands and contributes to all project themes within SALTISolutions

Visit website

Independent institute for applied research in the field of water and subsurface

Visit website

Independent, international engineering consultancy providing services in aviation, buildings, energy, industry, infrastructure, maritime, mining, rural and urban development, and water.

Visit website

The aim of the Port of Rotterdam Authority is to strengthen the competitive position of the port of Rotterdam as a logistics hub and a world-class industrial complex in terms of both size and quality. The Port Authority is able and willing to make an impact and so it is focusing on accelerating sustainability in the port and it is a partner in the digitalisation of the port and logistics chains. The Port Authority's core tasks are the sustainable development, management and operation of the port, the maintenance of the smooth and safe handling of shipping and supporting the future-resilience of the port of Rotterdam.

Visit website

NWO

NWO Domain Applied and Engineering Sciences (AES) is committed to promoting technical scientific research that yields applications and impact for people and society.

Visit website

Research institutes

Hydraulic Engineering, Environmental Fluid Mechanics & Coastal Engineering, Geosciences Remote Sensing, Institute of Applied Mathematics, Mathematical PhysicsWater Management, Water Resources, Hydrology

Visit website

Applied Physics, Turbulence and Vortex Dynamics

Visit website

Water Engineering and Management, Marine and Fluvial Systems, Design, Production Management

Visit website

Environmental Sciences, Hydrology and Quantitative Water Management

Visit website

Estuarine & Delta Systems

Visit website

Marine and Atmospheric Research, Physical Oceanography

Visit website

Companies

The aim of the Port of Rotterdam Authority is to strengthen the competitive position of the port of Rotterdam as a logistics hub and a world-class industrial complex in terms of both size and quality. The Port Authority is able and willing to make an impact and so it is focusing on accelerating sustainability in the port and it is a partner in the digitalisation of the port and logistics chains. The Port Authority's core tasks are the sustainable development, management and operation of the port, the maintenance of the smooth and safe handling of shipping and supporting the future-resilience of the port of Rotterdam.

Visit website

Svašek Hydraulics is a specialist consultant in coastal, harbour and river engineering. Stratified flows – specifically in the Rhine-Meuse-Delta - are a focus area of our expertise.

Visit website

Water-management company, which empowers water managers by providing easy access to reliable data, simulation models, user-friendly software and in-depth water knowledge.

Visit website

Nortek designs, develops and produces scientific instruments that apply the Doppler principle to underwater acoustics in order to measure water in motion

Visit website

Independent, international engineering consultancy providing services in aviation, buildings, energy, industry, infrastructure, maritime, mining, rural and urban development, and water.

Visit website

Knowledge entrepreneurs in flood risk and water resources management

Visit website

Arcadis is the leading global design & consultancy organization for natural and built assets. Arcadis has over 27000 employees and is active in more than 70 countries.

Visit website

ARK Nature is an organization that has pioneered rewilding. Our main focus is rewilding via a bottom-up approach, based on natural processes and linked to regional economic and social development.

Visit website

Independent research, advice and design in the field of ecology, nature and landscape. Sustainable and practical for people and wildlife. A bridge between science and practice.

Visit website

Evides Waterbedrijf supplies reliable drinking water 24/7 to 2.5 million consumers and businesses in Zeeland, the southwest of the province Zuid-Holland and the Brabantse Wal. In addition, Evides offers customized industrial water services to large industrial customers in the Netherlands, Belgium and Germany, among others.

Visit website

Royal Boskalis Westminster N.V. is a leading global services provider operating in the dredging, maritime infrastructure and maritime services sectors.

Visit website

International marine contractor

Visit website

The Tygron Geodesign Platform offers a sophisticated High Performance Computing (HPC) solution to solve the biggest challenges engineers, governments, planners and designers are facing today.

Visit website

Knowledge institutes

Independent institute for applied research in the field of water and subsurface

Visit website

Other organisations

The Dutch Ministry of Infrastructure and Water Management works daily on a safe, liveable and accessible Netherlands and contributes to all project themes within SALTISolutions

Visit website

Foundation for applied research and knowledge centre of the water boards. Develops, collects distributes and implements applied knowledge, essential for an effective and efficient water management.

Visit website

The waterboard Schieland and Krimpenerwaard manages water levels, fresh water supply, water barriers, water quality and sewage treatment in the area between Rotterdam, Schoonhoven, Gouda & Zoetermeer.

Visit website

The Hollandse Delta water board protects the islands of South Holland against flooding and ensures sufficient (fresh) and clean surface water.

Visit website

Knowledge center and interest group for non-domestic energy and water consumers

Visit website

Vewin is the national association of water companies in the Netherlands. The principal task of Vewin is to represent in the Hague and Brussels the interests of its members. Our aim is to establish and maintain favourable conditions for the continuous production of good drinking water.

Visit website

Last modified: 03/11/2023